Boardman’s Dunham, Howland girls win in CC

Boardman’s Mitchell Dunham won the Division I varsity race at Saturday’s Wooster Invitational. The senior won in a time of 15:38.8.

Meanwhile, Howland’s girls, coming off wins at the Oscar Grant Invitational and Billy Goat Challenge, captured another one at Saturday’s Pat Ritchie Cross Country Invitational at Walsh Jesuit High School. The Tigers distanced themselves from second-place Chardon, 54 to 88, in the Division I girls race.

Howland’s Megan Hipple (19:36.92), Howland’s Molly Yasnowski (20:05.36) and Austintown Fitch’s Kristin Yeager (20:22.58) finished in the top 10.

McDonald’s Brody Rupe (16:08.33) and Mineral Ridge’s Timmy Pappagallo (17:34.89) finished in the top 10 of the boys Division II-III race.

Maplewood’s Marissa Ventura placed third in the Division II-III girls race as the Rockets finished runner-up to Salem, 68 to 77.

Howland junior Lane Goble won the boys East Palestine Rotary invitational in 17:13.2 to lead the Tigers boys cross country team over Niles Saturday, 33-41.

Niles’ Micah Curry (17:57.8), Howland’s Zachary Brill (18:02.2), Niles’ Nathan Lanham (18:14.3), Niles’ Ashton Russo (18:22.0), Jackson-Milton Cole Graham (18:29.6), Howland’s Benjamin Bronson (18:31.1) and Niles’ Ryan Cline (18:34.4) finished in the top 10.

Cardinal Mooney freshman Sylvia Tsarnas ran 22:47.2 to win Saturday’s East Palestine Invitational and lead the Cardinal girls cross country team over Girard, 38-41.

Jackson-Milton’s Katie Campbell (23:15.4), Girard’s Nicole Chalker (23:42.0), Mooney’s Shirleyah Peakes (24:23.7) and Springfield’s Julianna Sandine (24:26.0) finished in the top 10.

Grand Valley’s John Steimle won the boys Ray Sweeney Invitational in 17:31.20 in Champion.

Garfield’s Nolan Wysong was second (18:15.17) to lead the G-Men to a second-place finish behind Streetsboro, 37 to 38.

GV’s David Steimle (18:37.81), Garfield’s Michael Martin (19:18.18) and Garfield’s Cole Owens (19:22.70) finished in the top 10.

Garfield’s girls beat out Streetsboro, 24 to 36. G-Men’s Isabella Puleo won in 22:32.74.

Garfield’s Gianna D’Amico (22:41.38), Kaitlynn Murphey (23:04.19) and Madely Stonestreet (24:40.36), Champion’s Lyndsey Davis (24:41.07), GV’s Annabell Hlebak (24:59.44) and Garfield’s Elizabeth Edic (25:05.32) finished in the top 10.

Results of the Tiffin Carninal were not in by press time.


Today's breaking news and more in your inbox

I'm interested in (please check all that apply)