NABF College Division World Series set to begin

Creekside Crocodiles hoping to win 2nd straight championship

YOUNGSTOWN — The National Amateur Baseball Federation College Division World Series gets underway this morning at 10 a.m. with eight teams comprising this year’s field.

Three area diamonds, Austintown Fitch High School, Pemberton Park and Koch Field will play host to this year’s double-elimination tournament with pool play slated through Saturday morning.

Each team will play a minimum of four games.

This year’s host, the Creekside Crocodiles, are the defending champions after winning the title in 2019 when it was held in Toledo.

The 2020 tournament was canceled due to the COVID-19 pandemic.

“We’re excited to play host to this year’s World Series tournament,” stated Bob Mingo, the tournament director and manager of host Creekside.

“The field is very competitive, any team can get hot and win the tournament and we’re looking forward to some excellent play over the next four days.”

Creekside will play in Pool A with the Jasper Reds, Brooklyn Cougars, and Lake Erie Warhawks.

The Toledo Hawks, New York Nine, G.R. Brewers and S.C. Terriers will make up Pool B.

On Saturday, consolation games are slated for all three sites with the Group A winner meeting the Group B runner-up at 4 p.m. and the Group B winner taking on the Group A runner-up at 7 p.m. at AFHS Rich Coppola Field.

The winners will advance to the title tilt.

The championship game is scheduled for Sunday at 10 a.m. at Austintown Fitch High School.

When Toledo was unable to host this year’s event, Mingo stepped up to the plate.

Mingo has hosted NABF College Division regional tournaments in the past but this year’s World Series marks the first time that Youngstown has been selected as a host site.

“With seven out of town teams a part of this year’s tournament field, hotels, restaurants and other local businesses will surely benefit,” Mingo added.

Today’s games are slated for Austintown Fitch High School only.

They will feature New York Nine versus the G.R Brewers at 10 a.m. The Jasper Reds will take on Lake Erie Warhawks at 12:30 p.m.

The Toledo Hawks wil entertain the S.C. Terriers at 4 p.m. and the Brooklyn Cougars will take on Creekside in the nightcap at 7 p.m.

The College Division World Series was first played in 1984.

Smithtown New York’s Seaman Oil captured the first ever championship by posting a 9-7 victory over Detroit LaDuke.

This year’s tournament marks the 37th World Series championship event.


Today's breaking news and more in your inbox

I'm interested in (please check all that apply)


Starting at $4.39/week.

Subscribe Today