And the 2023 ATHENA nominees are …

The ATHENA Award

YOUNGSTOWN — This year’s 28 nominees for the 30th annual ATHENA Award Program, which celebrates the accomplishments of outstanding professional women in the Mahoning Valley, have been announced.

The award and award dinner, presented by the Youngstown / Warren Regional Chamber and The Vindicator, will take place May 18 at Waypoint 4180 in Canfield.

A cocktail reception will start at 5 p.m. with the program and dinner starting at 6:15 p.m. Tickets cost $75 per person.

The 2023 nominees are:

• Sarah Aronson, anesthesiologist, Trumbull Regional Medical Center and Sharon Regional Medical Center;

• Virginia Deeane Banks, infectious disease specialist, Northeast Ohio Infectious Disease Associates;

• Tracey Behnke, senior development consultant — Midwest Region, American Heart Association;

• Elayne Bozik, Realtor, Berkshire Hathaway Home Services Stouffer Realty;

• Sherry Cross, director, Choffin Career and Technical Center adult education programs;

• Lena Esmail, CEO, QUICKmed Urgent Care and Specialty Clinics;

• Danielle Fraelich, vice president, The J. Arnold Wealth Management Co.;

• Trish Gelsomino, foundation giving coordinator, Premier Bank;

• Kathleen Harley, president, St. Elizabeth Youngstown Hospital;

• Lorena Hegedus, director, Hubbard Public Library;

• Sarah Keeler, district director for U.S. Rep. Bill Johnson;

• Chaya Kessler, director, Jewish Studies, Kent State University;

• Stella Kotsatos-Angelo, real estate sales professional, Century21 Lakeside Realty;

• Jane MacPherson, CEO, MacPherson & Company;

• Jamie Marshall, chief strategy officer, Henry H. Stambaugh Auditorium Association;

• Candace Madden, grant manager / Panerathon coordinator, Mercy Health Foundation Mahoning Valley;

• Penelope Mashburn, general surgeon / director of trauma services, Trumbull Regional Medical Center;

• Audrey Novotny, executive director, Square One Health LLC;

• Kristen Olmi, CEO, KO Consulting, LLC;

• Deidre Petrosky, Cortland mayor;

• Rachael Rankin, head principal, Newton Falls Junior High and High School;

• Roxann Sebest, vice president, United Way of Youngstown and the Mahoning Valley;

• Marisa Sergi, CEO, L’uva Bella Winery;

• Jillian Smith, assistant fire chief, Ellsworth Township;

• April Snyder, certified professional insurance agent / senior personal risk manager, Gibson Insurance Agency;

• Tracie Stephens, principal, Schroedel, Scullin & Bestic, LLC;

• Lisa Taafe, clinical administrative director, Akron Children’s Hospital;

• Nancy Voitus, executive director, Catholic Charities Regional Agency



Today's breaking news and more in your inbox

I'm interested in (please check all that apply)
Are you a paying subscriber to the newspaper? *


Starting at $4.62/week.

Subscribe Today