Youngstown City School Credit Union, 717 merge

After a successful merger, 1,100 Youngstown City Schools Credit Union members will move to 717 Credit Union and join nearly 100,000 individuals in the area who are already 717 members.

The merger was finalized Friday with the approval of the Ohio Department of Financial Institutions and the National Credit Union Administration.

717 Credit Union is the largest credit union in northeast Ohio with 13 branch locations and $1.6 billion in assets. The union has locations in Trumbull, Mahoning and Columbiana counties.

“We are excited to officially welcome the members of YCSCU,” 717 CEO and President John Demmler said in a news release. “This partnership is powered by our mutual desire to offer expanded service to our members and a heartfelt commitment to financial inclusion.

“This merger reaffirms our commitment to Youngstown and the education community. It is another big step as 717 continues to deepen its ties to the Youngstown area.”

According to 717’s news release, the YCSCU found it increasingly challenging to operate in a competitive marketplace due to the cost and complexity of technology and regulatory confidence. Because of that, YCSCU’s board of directors decided to seek a merger partner that could help serve its members in the long term and found that in 717, according to the news release.

All YCSCU members will have access to expanded products and services, the latest digital banking technology and premier member service at 717’s branch locations, which includes a call center, a top-rated mobile app and more than 30 ATMs and PTMs.

The YCSCU office inside the Youngstown Early College High School was closed as of Nov. 30.


Today's breaking news and more in your inbox

I'm interested in (please check all that apply)
Are you a paying subscriber to the newspaper? *

Starting at $2.99/week.

Subscribe Today