Holy Family students inducted into Beta Club

« Poland Neighbors


Neighbors | Submitted.Holy Family sixth-grade student Aidan Hryb proudly showed off his Beta Club certificate after being inducted into the National Junior Beta Club.on Jan. 28. .


Neighbors | Submitted.Twenty-four Holy Family students were inducted into the National Junior Beta Club at Holy Family School on Jan. 28. New members include (front row), left to right, Samantha Rotunno, Addyson Miller, Lillie Yanko, Alex Sfara, Andrew Shogren, Aidan Stamp, Luciana Vigliotti, Claudia MacDonald, and Mia Mateo; (second row, left to right) Joan McNally, Gabriel Bettross, Cameron Burk, Francesca DiTommaso, Aidan Hryb, Abigail Lyons, Nicolette Tsikouris, Ella Schrickel (back row), left to right, Mia Schrickel, Johnna Shaw, Christopher Philibin, Alec DelSignore, Griffin Barton, Paige Juliano and Bree Latell..


Neighbors | Submitted.Holy Family eighth-grade student Griffin Barton is pinned by mother, Shelly Barton, during the Beta Club installation on Jan. 28..

Twenty-four Holy Family students from sixth-, seventh- and eighth-grade were inducted into the National Junior Beta Club at Holy Family School on Jan. 28.

These 24 students join the 33 current seventh- and eighth-grade student Beta Club members. The club is a scholastic, service and leadership organization. Members aim to be of service to their school, community, state and nation.

Five candles are lit during the ceremony, serving as reminders to their pledge to uphold the ideals of our nation. The white candle denotes light, purity and faith. The red candle denotes love, wisdom and bravery. The blue candle is indicative of truth, constancy and fidelity. The black candle symbolizes the dignity, restraint and seriousness, in which members search for knowledge and truth. Finally, the gold candle designates warmth, friendliness and faithfulness.

The new members are pinned with the National Junior Beta Club pin by members of their family, including parents, grandparents or older siblings. The students publicly pledge their commitment to this club and receive a certificate and pin acknowledging their membership.

The 2018-19 National Junior Beta Club officers are Alex LaPlante, president; Stephen Yerian, vice president; William Varley, secretary; Patrick Dambrogio, treasurer; Maria Fire, representative and Marilyn Hammerton, faculty advisor.

More like this from vindy.com

Subscribe Today

Sign up for our email newsletter to receive daily news.

Want more? Click here to subscribe to either the Print or Digital Editions.