Dr. Elisabeth Young is 2018 Athena Award winner

BOARDMAN — The recipient of the 2018 Athena Award is Dr. Elisabeth Young, vice president for Health Affairs and dean of the College of Medicine at Northeast Ohio Medical University.

Dr. Young, of Poland, is the first NEOMED alumnus to serve as dean of the College of Medicine.

The Athena Award honors outstanding professional women in the Mahoning Valley and is presented by the Youngstown/Warren Regional Chamber and The Vindicator.

Twenty-one women were nominated for this year’s award. The awards dinner, which drew about 500 attendees, took place tonight at Mr. Anthony’s Banquet Center.

More like this from vindy.com

Subscribe Today

Sign up for our email newsletter to receive daily news.

Want more? Click here to subscribe to either the Print or Digital Editions.