Senators urge President Trump to accept Ohio's disaster declaration

WASHINGTON — Ohio U.S. Sens. Rob Portman, a Republican from near Cincinnati, and Sherrod Brown, a Democrat from Cleveland, urged President Trump to act swiftly on Gov. John Kasich’s request for a Presidential Disaster Declaration for 19 Ohio counties impacted by severe flooding: Adams, Athens, Belmont, Brown, Clermont, Columbiana, Gallia, Hamilton, Jackson, Lawrence, Meigs, Monroe, Muskingum, Noble, Perry, Pike, Scioto, Vinton and Washington.

The senators said the declaration will help ensure the impacted counties can access important federal assistance and resources to recover.

Subscribe Today

Sign up for our email newsletter to receive daily news.

Want more? Click here to subscribe to either the Print or Digital Editions.