Area football coaches honored by NFF


The Mike Cleary Northeastern Ohio Chapter of the National Football Foundation hosted its 30th annual scholar-athlete awards banquet Tuesday night. This year’s banquet honored 22 high school scholar-athletes from 20 area high schools, along with 12 college postgraduate scholarship recipients.

The group also named Mount Union head coach Vince Kehres the Lee Tressel College Coach of the Year. Akron Hoban head coach Tim Tyrrell was named Paul Brown High School Coach of the Year. Tyrrell played at Ursuline and Youngstown State. Newbury’s Brock Jones, George O’Hamill and Don Smith all received the Ron Stoops Assistant Coach of the Year award.

Staff/Wire Report

More like this from

Don't Miss a Story

Sign up for our newsletter to receive daily news directly in your inbox.