SPORTS DIGEST || OHSAA director set to resign in September

OHSAA director set to resign in September


Dr. Dan Ross, Executive Director of the Ohio High School Athletic Association since 2004, announced his resignation, effective Sept. 15. The OHSAA Board of Directors accepted Dr. Ross’ resignation letter Thursday at its regularly-scheduled January meeting.

Dr. Ross’ career spanned 48 years and began his duties as the OHSAA’s ninth commissioner on Aug. 1, 2004.

The OHSAA Board of Directors will begin implementing a succession plan and assemble a search committee for the OHSAA’s next executive director.

Under Dr. Ross’ leadership, the OHSAA has added girls and boys bowling, dual team wrestling and girls and boys lacrosse, while also adding additional divisions in girls soccer, girls golf, boys swimming and football.

Since his arrival, the OHSAA has strengthened its brand and awareness by increasing statewide television coverage of state tournaments and creating the OHSAA Radio Network.

Military Appreciation Night set in Liberty


The Liberty Athletic Department will offer free admission and popcorn to veterans and current service members to tonight’s basketball game against Brookfield.

The event is part of the Ohio Athletic Association’s Military Appreciation Night.

Volleyball District One honorees announced

Hubbard’s Adria Powell received first team honors in Division II by the Ohio High School Volleyball Coach’s Association.

Howland’s Faith Grant was named third team in Div. II while Cardinal Mooney’s Autumn DeSantis and Girard’s Natalie Pallone received honorable mention.

Crestview’s Mackenzie Daub and United’s Camryn Jarrett were named second team in Div. III.

Mathew’s Addy Jarvis and Southern’s Lizzie Willis received third team honors while Lordstown’s Kellee Applegate received honorable mention.

Southern head coach Robert Shansky received the Coaches Achievement Award.

Columbiana to honor Hall of Fame Class


Six former Clipper athletes are will be inducted into the Columbiana Athletic Hall of Fame on Saturday at 6 p.m. in the CHS Commons .

Inductees are Mike Bogdan, Krystle Crittenden Graham, Drew Garrod, Kurt Kyle, Katrena Skaggs Davidson and Bruce Wolf.

The inductees will be introduced to the community tonight between the varsity girls and varsity boys basketball games against Lisbon.

James, Curry named All-Star Game captains


LeBron James and Stephen Curry will be the captains who pick teams for the revamped NBA All-Star Game.

James and Curry received the most votes from fans in their conferences Thursday night and will draft from a pool of the rest of the NBA’s best for next month’s game in Los Angeles.

The format was changed from the traditional East vs. West matchup for the first time after lackluster games the last two seasons, when players made little attempt to defend and the West nearly scored 200 in both of its victories.

The remainder of the starters from the Eastern Conference will be Boston’s Kyrie Irving, Toronto’s DeMar DeRozan, Philadelphia’s Joel Embiid and Milwaukee’s Giannis Antetokounmpo.

Kevin Durant joins Curry from the NBA champion Golden State Warriors, while New Orleans also has two starters in Anthony Davis and DeMarcus Cousins. Houston guard James Harden rounds out the starters, who were selected by a combination of fan, media and player voting.

The reserves, voted upon by the head coaches in each conference, will be announced Tuesday, and the rosters selected by James and Curry will be unveiled on Thursday.

Staff/wire report

More like this from

Subscribe Today

Sign up for our email newsletter to receive daily news.

Want more? Click here to subscribe to either the Print or Digital Editions.

AP News