Youngstown school board retains Kimble, Murphy as leaders

Staff report


The Youngstown City Schools Board of Education will retain Brenda Kimble as its president and Mike Murphy as vice president.

Last year’s reorganization meeting took two days and a combined 61/2 hours to choose a president and vice president.

This year’s meeting took less than one hour.

A majority vote in favor of both members occurred during Wednesday evening’s reorganization meeting.

The vote for president was 4-2 with no votes from board members Dario Hunter and Corinne Sanderson.

The vote for vice president was four votes for Murphy from Kimble, Murphy, board member Ronald Shadd and new member Tina Cvetkovich; and two votes for Sanderson from Sanderson and Hunter.

Board member Jackie Adair was absent until the last five minutes of the meeting, didn’t vote on any measure and abstained from the vote to adjourn.

In other business, Mahoning County Juvenile Court Judge Theresa Dellick swore in new and returning school board members Cvetkovich and Shadd. Cvetkovich replaces former board member Jerome Williams.

The next meeting will be at 5:30 p.m. Tuesday at the Choffin Career and Technical Center.

Don't Miss a Story

Sign up for our newsletter to receive daily news directly in your inbox.