Submitted Photo | Howard Merritt

Submitted Photo | Howard Merritt

Springfield claims second consecutive Ohio Men’s Senior League title

Springfield recently defended its Ohio Men’s Senior Baseball League Timeless Division (65 years and older) championship with an 11-3 win over the Kent Mudhens at Thurman Munson Memorial Stadium in Canton. Kneeling, from left, are Jim Greer (Hermitage, Pa.), Ron Jennings (Salem), John Jewell (Alliance), Dave Bindas (Struthers), Skip Feigert (Hermitage, Pa.), Bob Johnson (Boardman), Howard Merritt (Canfield), Ed Farrell (Greenville, Pa,) and Rich Tabis (Hermitage, Pa.). Standing from left, are Jack Hay (Poland), Jim Ciotti (Salem), Dave Warren (Salem), Player-Manager Pat Pruent (New Castle, Pa.), Don Christian (Poland), Nick Simco (Hermitage, Pa.), Paul Bevilaqua (Poland), Frank Ceccarelli (Hubbard), Ron McIntire (New Castle, Pa.) and Jim Wilson (East Palestine). Missing from the photo is Frank Forkel. Hay pitched a complete game in the title game while Christian, Simko, Ciotti, Merritt, Ceccarelli and Bindas had RBI hits.

More like this from

Subscribe Today

Sign up for our email newsletter to receive daily news.

Want more? Click here to subscribe to either the Print or Digital Editions.

AP News