Vindicator Logo

JCL awards scholarships, installs officers

Sunday, August 12, 2018

Staff report


The Junior Civic League presented college scholarships to nine local graduates at its recent luncheon at the Holiday Inn, Boardman. Guest speaker was Judge Carla J. Baldwin, Youngstown Municipal Court and Veterans’ Treatment Court.

The Cinderella Ball Scholarships were awarded to Amber Bowie, Liberty High School, “Miss Cinderella,” $2,500; Jerrica Walker, Mineral Ridge High School, first attendant, $1,800; and Lauryn Laney, Hubbard High School, second attendant, $1,500. The other recipients of $1,500 scholarships are Asia A. Alexander, Campbell Memorial; Sierra A. Chapman, Ursuline; Dreama J. Jackson, Lakeview; Gianna A. Jones; Warren G. Harding; Vanessa M. Mauzy, Austintown Fitch; and Myra L. Taylor, East. Duane Davis II was awarded the Youngstown State University Scholarship of $1,575. He is a senior at YSU, majoring in theater studies.

The luncheon program also included special recognition of JCL founders Geneva Mason and Juanita Williams, the introduction of nine new members and the installation of the 2018-20 Junior Civic League officers.

New members are Gloria Blackmon, Michelle Clarett, Allesha Crawley, Tiffany Hough, Anissa Lewis, Sharon Muldrow, Ameerah Pusey, Kathy Thompson and Tenessa Willis.

Officers installed are Jenita Gillespie, president; Charmaine Bracy, vice president; Sylvia Rupert, treasurer; Christine Hennings, financial secretary; Cynthia Little, recording secretary; Kim Kitchen, corresponding secretary; Veronica Crafter-Srinivasan, parliamentary; Joyce Alexander, public relations/reporter; Jerrine King, chaplain; and Lynette Brown, historian.

For information about the JCL, visit or follow on Facebook.