Officer of the year

The Ohio State Penitentiary on Coitsville-Hubbard Road on Youngstown’s East Side has named Officer Tarik Rahim as Corrections Officer of the Year.

Rahim will now represent the prison May 4 for the statewide Ronald C. Marshall Correction Officer of the Year Award.

Rahim has worked for the Department of Rehabilitation and Correction since 1994 and was one of the original group of corrections officers when the OSP opened in 1997.

Rahim has belonged to the prison’s Special Response Team since 1998 and is also certified as a firearms instructor and use- of-force instructor.

There are 447 maximum-security inmates at the prison, and there are 327 corrections officers and staff.

Milestones is a regular Sunday feature in The Vindicator. Articles must be submitted within 30 days of the Milestone event. Include a stamped, self-addressed envelope if you want a picture returned. Pictures also may be picked up at the paper’s Front Street facility at the security guard station. Send items to: Milestones, c/o The Vindicator, P.O. Box 780, Youngstown 44501, or by email to and put “Milestones” in the subject line.

More like this from

Subscribe Today

Sign up for our email newsletter to receive daily news.

Want more? Click here to subscribe to either the Print or Digital Editions.