Flip-the-board candidate will join Mock on Austintown’s school board

By Justin Wier



Those who sought to flip the Austintown Board of Education were at least partially successful Tuesday, but they failed to unseat incumbent Kathy Mock.

With three seats up for grabs, voters chose to retain Mock and elect Robin Krempasky and Don Sherwood.

Both Krempasky and Sherwood were endorsed by the Flip the Austintown Board of Education group, but only Krempasky publicly participated in its events and appeared in Q&A’s on the group’s Facebook page.

The group, which opposes the leadership of Superintendent Vince Colaluca and questions the school district’s policy of open enrollment, wanted to take the opportunity to win a majority of seats on the board.

The trio will join Harold Porter, who voted against extending Colaluca’s contract and participating in open enrollment, and David Ritchie on the board.

Sherwood led with 4,448 votes, Krempasky had 4,094 and Mock had 3,624.

Sherwood chalked his win up to community support and a team of supporters.

“I’m a lifer here, and I’m glad the community feels the same way,” Sherwood said. “I have kids in the district. It matters a lot to me.”

Mock also thanked the community for retaining her on the school board. She said she looks forward to working with Sherwood and Krempasky.

“That’s one of the things I have said all along,” Mock said. “I can collaborate on the many challenges ahead of us with an approach of professionalism and honesty.”

The Vindicator made several calls Tuesday but was unable to reach Robin Krempasky for comment.

David Daichendt, the other candidate who publicly aligned himself with Flip the Board, trailed with 2,255 votes.

Kimberly Smrek, whom the group did not endorse, received 3,270 votes and Omar Jadue, whom it did endorse, received 2,255.

In Poland, incumbent Larry Dinopoulos will retain his seat with 3,234 votes, but Richard “Beau” Weaver will make way for Gregg Riddle, who edged him out with 2,403 votes to Weaver’s 2,332.

In Boardman, incumbents Vickie Davis and John Landers will retain their seats and John Fryda will join them. Davis received 5,400 votes, Landers 4,183 and Fryda 4,183. Tracie Balentine came in last with 2,599 votes.

Canfield will have two new faces on its board as voters chose Traci DeCapua and Michael Roussos along with incumbent Craig Olson.

Voters chose not to retain incumbent Barry Tancer.

DeCapua received 3,140 votes, Roussos 2,573, Olson 2,438 and Tancer 1,594.

Also running were Joseph Angelo who received 1,717 votes and Justin Taylor who received 1,381.

Subscribe Today

Sign up for our email newsletter to receive daily news.

Want more? Click here to subscribe to either the Print or Digital Editions.