Scholastic Art Awards competition planned

Staff report


The 2018 Northeastern Ohio Scholastic Art Awards Exhibition will open Jan. 8 at Youngstown State University and run through Jan. 24.

Showcasing artwork from students in Mahoning, Trumbull, Columbiana and Ashtabula counties in grades 7 to 12, the exhibition will be in the Judith Rae Solomon Gallery on the second floor of Bliss Hall, which is open weekdays from 8 a.m. to 5 p.m.

The awards ceremony will be at noon Jan. 13 in Bliss Hall’s Ford Theater. A total of 737 entries were judged. The American Visions Award and Gold Key finalists will be sent to New York where they will compete for awards and possible scholarships with other students from across the nation.

Parking is available for a $5 fee in the M30 Wick Avenue parking deck. Those attending the awards ceremonies should enter Bliss Hall through the University Theater lobby on the first floor.

The Scholastic Art Awards program is the largest and most comprehensive annual student art competition in America. Founded in 1927 by Scholastic Inc., it has recognized more than 13 million creative teenagers, including Andy Warhol and Robert Redford, in its 90 year history.

The following schools are participating:

Ashtabula County: Grand Valley High School, Jefferson Area High School.

Columbiana County: Leetonia High School, Salem High School, United Local High School, and Wellsville Jr. Senior High School.

Mahoning County: Austintown Fitch High School, Boardman High School, Cardinal Mooney High School, Canfield High School, Holy Family School, Jackson-Milton High School, Lowellville High School, Mahoning County Career and Technical Center, Poland Seminary High School, St. Christine School, South Range High School, Struthers High School, Ursuline High School, Valley Christian School, and West Branch High School.

Trumbull County: Champion High School, Champion Middle School, Howland High School, Hubbard High School, John F. Kennedy High School, Joseph Badger High Schools, LaBrae High School, Lakeview High School, Mathews High School, Mineral Ridge High School, Newton Falls High School, Niles McKinley High School, Niles Middle School, Trumbull Career and Technical Center, Warren G. Harding High School, Warren Jefferson PK-8 School, and Warren McGuffey PK-8 School.

More like this from

Don't Miss a Story

Sign up for our newsletter to receive daily news directly in your inbox.