Award winners

Ohio State Highway Patrol trooper Jodi E. Bowlen, 28, has been chosen as the 2015 trooper of the year at the Lisbon Post.

Bowlen joined the patrol in 2011 and was assigned to the Bucyrus Post until June 2012. She moved to the Lisbon Post in 2012. She was selected as post trooper of the year in 2013 and was awarded a fitness ribbon with a star to recognize her commitment to physical fitness.

She is a graduate of Austintown Fitch High School and earned a bachelor’s degree in criminal justice from Youngstown State University. Bowlen lives in Austintown. She participates and leads several programs for teens, including the juvenile diversion program of the Columbiana County Juvenile Court, where she helps to educate and correct behaviors exhibited by first-time juvenile traffic offenders.

Radio dispatcher Tammy S. Renfro, 54, has been selected for the 2015 Ohio State Highway Patrol Telecommunications Award at the Lisbon Dispatch Center.

Renfro joined the patrol in 2000 and has served at the Canfield Post and Lisbon Dispatch Center. She was also selected as dispatcher of the year in 2014.

She is a graduate of Wintersville High School and received an associate degree in criminal justice from YSU. She lives in Salem and has three daughters, Shelby of Salem, Shannon of Boardman and Danielle of Greensboro, N.C.

The honorees were nominated by their peers at the post. They are in contention for district and state awards to be announced at a later date.

Milestones is a regular Sunday feature in The Vindicator. Articles must be submitted within 30 days of the Milestone event. Include a stamped, self-addressed envelope if you want a picture returned. Pictures also may be picked up at the paper’s Front Street facility at the security guard station. Send items to: Milestones, c/o The Vindicator, P.O. Box 780, Youngstown 44501.

More like this from

Subscribe Today

Sign up for our email newsletter to receive daily news.

Want more? Click here to subscribe to either the Print or Digital Editions.