YOUNGSTOWN diocese 2014 Golden Apple winners announced

Staff report


The Office of Catholic Schools of the Diocese of Youngstown announced the 2014 winners of the Golden Apple Award.

The 2014 winners are Katie Conricote, St. Joseph the Provider Elementary School; Patricia Fleming, Ursuline High School; and Maureen Kandray, Cardinal Mooney High School, all Youngstown; Georgann Foltz, St. Peter Elementary School, Canton; Patricia Klucher, St. Charles Elementary School, Boardman; Hillary Newell SS. Philip and James Elementary School, Canal Fulton; and Maria Valley, Holy Family Elementary School, Poland.

Through the generosity of the Donahue Family Foundation of Pittsburgh, the Golden Apple Award honors outstanding individuals who teach or who are administrators in Catholic schools.

The diocese recognizes and appreciates the unique charge these teachers and administrator have to the development of each student. Their selection, from a field of many outstanding educators in the Catholic schools, is a recognition of the commitment and witness of all the Catholic school teachers and administrators throughout the diocese.

The award includes an unrestricted cash award of $5,000, a certificate, a Golden Apple paperweight and a Golden Apple lapel pin presented to the awardees at a dinner Wednesday at the Youngstown Country club. Stan Boney of WYTV Television will be the master of ceremonies for the event.

A selection process at the school and diocesan level was used to determine the winners.

In addition to being a full-time teacher or administrator who has been in the school where they are teaching or administrating for at least three full years, these teachers and administrator must give evidence of the following: professional development, commitment to students and school, leadership qualities, service to Church and community, teaching skills and role model as a Catholic educator.

Don't Miss a Story

Sign up for our newsletter to receive daily news directly in your inbox.