LaBrae’s Aldridge wins 3rd all-district Player of the Year

Vikings’ Aldridge wins third consecutive all-district Player of the Year honor

Staff report

The Mahoning Valley was well-represented on the 2014 Associated Press Northeast Inland All-District high school basketball teams, announced Wednesday. The honorees were selected by a media panel from the district.

LaBrae standout Peyton Aldridge was named Player of the Year in Division III for the third straight season. The 6-foot-8 senior, who will attend Daividson (N.C.) College on a basketball scholarship, averaged 21.4 points per game for the Vikings.

Alli Pavlik, of Lakeview, earned the honor in Division II after averaging 26.9 points per game during her senior season. West Branch standout Melinda Trimmer, who has led the Warriors to the regional final Saturday against Akron St. Vincent-St. Mary, was named to the first team. Trimmer, a 5-foot-7 junior, is already committed to play college basketball at Youngstown State.

In the girls Division III voting, Ursuline sophomore Tanaya Beacham was also Player of the Year, after averaging 16.8 points and 13 rebounds in leading the Irish to the district final.

There, they fell to Tony Matisi’s South Range squad. Matisi, who turned a 13-11 squad into a district champion this season, was named Coach of the Year. Starla Sharp led the Raiders (23-4) in scoring and was a first-team honoree.

Jessica Isler, of Windham, was named the Player of the Year in Division IV. The 5-foot-9 junior averaged 21.4 points per game this past season.

Steve Miller, whose Western Reserve team plays Zanesville Bishop Rosecrans tonight in a Division IV regional semifinal, earned Coach of the Year accolades after guiding the Blue Devils to a 20-6 record.

Wellsville’s Nate Scott, who led the Tigers in scoring at 22 points per game, was named Player of the Year in Division IV. His teammate Camden Douglas joined him on the first team. Lordstown coach Brian Force was named Coach of the Year.

Other first-teamers were Austintown Fitch’s Jessie Driver and Megan Sefcik (Division I boys and girls, respectively), boys Division II standouts Jarret Vrabel of Canfield and Jacob Wolfe of Poland, Asim Pleas of Liberty and Girard’s Dylan O’Hara in Division III, and Division IV winners Matt Seitz of McDonald, Parker Rickey of Windham, Brandon Lee of Bristol, Wyatt Ford of Mathews and Paolo DePasquale of Lowellville.

On the girls’ side, McKenna Shives of Struthers was a Division II first-team honoree. MacKenzie Gatchel of United and Leah Leshnack of Liberty joined Girard’s Bree Bishop on the Division III first-team list.

In Division IV, Baylie Mook of Columbiana, Aleah Hughes of Western Reserve, Brooke Dawson of Maplewood, Sarah Cash of Lordstown and Taylor Kramar of Badger were honored.

More like this from

Subscribe Today

Sign up for our email newsletter to receive daily news.

Want more? Click here to subscribe to either the Print or Digital Editions.

AP News