Ryan, other leaders pen support for Tressel's YSU candidacy

The "Jim Tressel for YSU President" movement is gaining momentum. U.S. Rep Tim Ryan and a group of business and community leaders have sent the following letter to Youngstown State University’s Board of Trustees:

Dear Board Member,

As long time supporters of Youngstown State University, we are writing to offer our full and unequivocal support behind Jim Tressel to be the next President of Youngstown State University. We hope that the Board considers moving expeditiously to make this happen. We all have known Jim personally for many years and strongly believe that he will bring all of the skill and experience needed to lead Youngstown State University forward. He understands the importance of YSU's relationship to the cities of Youngstown, Warren, our surrounding communities, America Makes, the Youngstown Business Incubator and the role of STEM in our future economic initiatives. He knows the importance of university collaborations with the private sector and local workforce. And he has the relationships and obvious leadership skills to build both the financial and organizational support for the YSU initiatives that will grow the University and broader economy.

Given the current circumstance, we hope you would consider making an offer quickly so that we can move forward and build upon the great progress that has been made in the Mahoning Valley. The world is a very dynamic and complicated place today, but the most important indicator of the success of any institution today is leadership. If an institution has strong, visionary and resilient leadership, it will succeed. We believe Jim Tressel will provide that kind of leadership and take YSU and the Mahoning Valley to the next level.

I have been in communications with the following community leaders and they have agreed to lend their support to this effort.

Mike Broderick

Mike Bruno

Tony Cafaro

Don Constantini

Sam Covelli

Don Crane

Denise DeBartolo-York

Mike Garvey

Presley Gillespie

Tom Humphries

Dave Johnson

Glenn Johnson

Ron Klingle

Dr. Chander Kohli, MD

John Masternick

Robert Morales

Ed Muransky

Bill Padisak

John Perdue

Carol Potter

Eric Ryan

Anthony Saadey

Diane Sauer

Rick Schiraldi

Bob Sebo

Eric Spiegel

Gary Steinbeck

Doug Sweeney

Herb Washington

Bruce Zoldan

Ron Jaworski

Go Penguins!


Tim Ryan

For details, see Thursday's Vindicator!

Don't Miss a Story

Sign up for our newsletter to receive daily news directly in your inbox.