Soap Box Derby champs to be honored

Staff report


Youngstown Area Soap Box Derby champions are among 100 derby champions representing 65 Ohio communities who will be recognized for their accomplishments at the State House Recognition Day on Tuesday in Columbus.

Youngstown Area Soap Box Derby champions to be honored are Rachel Bockelman, Katie Placer, Brandon Krohn, Lia Brammer, Julia Castner, Nico Terrigno, and Zachary Krohn.

The honorees include 71 Ohio Local and Rally Champions who competed in the 76th FirstEnergy All-American Soap Box Derby World Championship, 12 team members from Hatton Community Learning Center (Akron) National Gravity Racing Challenge STEM School Stock Division Team Champions, nine team members from Springfield High School (Akron) National Gravity Racing Challenge STEM School Super Stock Division Team Champions and eight Super Kids Champions who competed in the National Super Kids Classic.

“My most memorable moment was winning my local race and then participating in the various race-week events in Akron where I met kids from across the nation and around the world,” said Bockelman, Youngstown Local Super Stock champion.

“But most of all, I enjoyed the rush that came from racing down the huge hill at the FirstEnergy All-American World Championship Race,” she said.

The Columbus event was organized by the International Soap Box Derby, state Sen. Frank LaRose’s office, and Ohio Local Soap Box Derby directors.

Each champion will receive a commendation from their state senator and representative. Twenty senators and 38 representatives will participate in the event.

After the ceremony, the champions will visit the state Senate and House chambers, tour the Statehouse and attend an awards luncheon at Spaghetti Warehouse.

“It’s a testament to the hard work and energy each champ and team put into building their car,” said Joe Mazur, derby president and CEO. “The education they get from building a car and racing it can’t be duplicated in any other youth activity or sport.”

The International Soap Box Derby is the recognized governing body of Soap Box Derby racing and includes the FirstEnergy All-American Soap Box Derby and the Gravity Racing Challenge.

Subscribe Today

Sign up for our email newsletter to receive daily news.

Want more? Click here to subscribe to either the Print or Digital Editions.