Mooney honors two distinguished alumni

Staff report


The Cardinal Mooney High School Alumni Association presented its 2014 Distinguished Alumni Awards last week to Susan Squillace Sandine, a 1965 graduate, and Dr. Robert Gerberry, who graduated in 1961.

The Distinguished Alumni Awards are presented annually. The criterion requires that the awardee “demonstrate a continuing concern and dedication for others by embracing the Cardinal Mooney motto of Sanctity, Scholarship and Discipline.”

Sandine is charter member of the board of the Cardinal Mooney Alumni Association. She joined the board at its inception in 1987 and has served for 26 consecutive years, currently serving as the secretary of the board. Sandine attended Youngstown State University, majoring in elementary education, and taught at the Schrum Pre-School before joining the faculty of St. Luke’s Elementary School as a third-grade teacher.

After her service at St. Luke’s, she served as a substitute teacher at St. Dominic’s school on Youngstown’s South Side. Recently, she retired as an employee of the city of Youngstown. Sandine is a lifelong member of St. Dominic’s parish where, as a parent, she served as an officer in both the parish’s home and school association and booster club. In addition, Sandine was a member of St. Elizabeth Hospital Junior Guild.

As a board member of the Cardinal Mooney Alumni Association, Sandine has been active as a class co-captain in the school’s annual funding campaign, The Cardinal Challenge, and has been active in the school’s Career Day activities, which are sponsored by the association. In addition, she has served on the auction committee and has been a member of the Home and School Association and Booster Club.

Most recently, she has devoted her time to volunteering in the school’s in-school store, The Cardinal’s Nest. Sandine and her husband, Ralph, are the parents of two children: Ralph ’91 and Shelia ’95. They are members of St. Dominic’s parish.

Dr. Gerberry earned his bachelor’s degree at The Ohio State University in 1966 and completed his optometry degree at The Ohio State University College of Optometry in 1970. He has been associated with Eyecare Associates in Poland and Youngstown since 1971.

He has given of his time and talent to provide leadership in the community, his parish and at Cardinal Mooney. In 1987, he was elected the first president of the Cardinal Mooney Alumni Association. In that role, he helped to frame an organization that in more than 25 years has provided a critical role in supporting his alma mater.

Dr. Gerberry’s leadership was critical in the creation of The Cardinal Challenge. He was active in the creation of the Cardinal Mooney and Ursuline auction. He and his family are members of St. Charles parish where he has served on parish council, as a lector and lay distributor. In addition, he also is active in the St. Vincent DePaul Society.

Dr. Gerberrry was recognized as the “Outstanding Young Optometrist of the Year” and has been a member of the Ohio State Board of Optometrists, serving as secretary of the board from 1989-90 and president from 1990-92. He was lieutenant governor of Zone 4 and governor of Zone 4 of the Ohio Optometric Association and served on its board of directors from 1975-77. He has volunteered as a medical consultant for the Youngs-town Area Community Head Start Program and has been active in the Foundation for Fighting Blindness.

He has been the president of Tippecanoe Country Club, a member of the American Optometric Association and Epsilon Psi Epsilon National Professional Fraternity.

Dr. Gerberry and his wife, Virginia, are the parents of four children: Robert, Tracy, Jason and Chris; and grandparents of five grandchildren. They are members of St. Charles parish.

Cardinal Mooney President the Rev. Gerald DeLucia noted “both Dr. Gerberry and Mrs. Sandine reflect the ideals of Cardinal Mooney in all that they have undertaken. They always find time to reach out to benefit those in need and particularly work to benefit the students of the schools where they have volunteered. Both Dr. Gerberry and Mrs. Sandine have been positive role models for their families and the students that they have touched in their entire communities. We are proud to name them as our Distinguished Alumni for 2014.”

This is the 18th year that the Distinguished Alumni Awards have been presented by the Association. The awards, initiated in 1997, were presented to Denise DeBartolo York and Atty. Michael Morley. Subsequent awardees have included Carole Haus Halloran, Dr. M. Frank Beck, Susan Doyle Trewella, David Handel, Dale Gresko, Mary Beth Gordon Gresko, Catherine Wigley, George Farris, Ed Farris, John Farris Sr. Patricia McNicholas, OSU, D. Joseph Fleming, Diana Babnich Colaianni. Stephen Popovich, Terry Reardon, Kathy Coppola Villella, Dr. Elena Rossi, Dr. John Babyak, Chrysann Mitzel, John Gocala, Nancy Varley, Wallace Dunne, Frank Courtney, Marilyn Daltorio, Sr. Bernadine Janci, S.N.D., Ed Reese, Debbie Schiavone, Dr. Tom Boniface Sr. Kathleeen Minchin and Bob Stoops.

Last year’s honorees were Dr. Mary Lou Kachmer McGregor and Dr. William Diorio.

Don't Miss a Story

Sign up for our newsletter to receive daily news directly in your inbox.