Several file across Valley to run in primary

By David Skolnick


U.S. Rep. Bill Johnson, a Republican, and former state Rep. Jennifer Garrison, a Democrat, filed nominating petitions for the 6th Congressional District race.

Johnson and Garrison, both of Marietta, turned in petitions Friday to the Columbiana County Board of Elections.

Recruited by national Democrats to run for this seat, Garrison, an attorney who spent six years in the Ohio House, announced in July 2013 that she would seek the office.

Johnson, a two-term incumbent, filed petitions with signatures of residents from each of the 6th District’s 18 counties.

The 6th includes all of Columbiana and eight Mahoning County townships.

Nominating petitions must be certified by boards of elections for candidates to get on the ballot.

Wednesday is the filing deadline for candidates running in the May 6 primary.

In the 13th District, the only candidate to file so far is Democrat John Stephen Luchansky of Boardman.

Luchansky lost the 2006 Democratic primary for the 6th Congressional District seat to Charlie Wilson, who spent more than $500,000 of his own money to win that primary as a write-in and then the general election.

Luchansky considered running in the 13th District for the 2012 Democratic primary, but ultimately did not.

The district is represented by Democrat Tim Ryan of Niles, a six-term incumbent who will file before Wednesday’s deadline.

That district includes most of Mahoning and Trumbull counties as well as portions of Summit, Portage and Stark counties.

In the 14th District, freshman U.S. Rep. David P. Joyce, a Republican from Russell Township, has filed for re-election.

Democrat Michael Wager of Moreland Hills, who announced months ago that he would challenge Joyce, also has turned in nominating petitions for the position.

The 14th District includes northern Trumbull County.

Meanwhile, Cynthia L. McWilson of Youngstown says she’ll file Monday as a Democrat for the Ohio House 58th District seat being vacated by state Rep. Robert F. Hagan of Youngstown at the end of the year. Hagan, a Democrat, cannot run for re-election because of the state’s term-limits law.

Democrats who’ve already filed in that district include Michele Lepore-Hagan, the incumbent’s wife; Youngstown Councilwoman Janet Tarpley, D-6th, and Michael E. O’Hara of Youngstown.

Don't Miss a Story

Sign up for our newsletter to receive daily news directly in your inbox.