Dana Young Artist Competition scheduled for Nov. 17

story tease


Neighbors | Submitted.The Dana Young Artist’s Competition is scheduled for Nov. 17. Students competing that day include, from left, (front) Jason Volovar (Poland), Amanda Lawrence (Waynesburg), Philip Monrean (Girard), Misty Everetts (New Bethlehem); (back) Dan Danch (New Wilmington), Christian Dennis (Youngstown), Matthew Ohlin (New Middletown), Victor Cardamone (Apollo), Christopher Mrofchak (McDonald), James Weltman (New Castle), Logan Mueller-Jonas (Conneaut), Lauren Eisenreich (Wexford).

The Dana School of Music has announced the Dana Young Artist Competition, to be Nov. 17 at 1 p.m. at Butler North, adjacent to the Butler Institute of American Art. The competition is free and open to the public.

The Dana Young Artist Competition, offered each year in November, is open to juniors, seniors and graduate students who are enrolled in applied music at the Dana School of Music. Up to three winners may be chosen and will perform their competition repertoire with the Dana Symphony Orchestra or the Dana Chamber Orchestra in the spring. Sixteen Dana School of Music students have applied and been accepted to compete for the distinction of winning the competition. Each student has a set time to perform, with repertoires ranging from classical to contemporary composers. Students may either perform instrumentally or vocally.

A panel of three professional judges will select the winner at approximately 4:45 p.m. that day. The public is invited to attend either the entire range of concerts, or the conclusion where the winners will be announced.

Students accepted to compete include: Matt Ohlin (New Middletown), clarinet; Abigail McLaughlin (Toronto), violin; Philip Monrean (Girard), guitar; Amanda Lawrence (Waynesburg), flute; Misty Everetts (New Bethlehem), clarinet; Dan Danch (New Wilmington), vibraphone; James Weltman (New Castle), trombone; Christopher Nutter (Cranberry Twp.), clarinet; Sierra McCorvey (Warren), soprano; Logan Mueller-Jonas (Conneaut), trumpet; Jerry Koziorynsky (Boardman), violin; Lauren Eisenreich (Wexford), trombone; Victor Cardamone (Apollo), tenor; Christian Dennis (Youngstown), tuba; Jason Volovar (Poland), piano; Christopher Mrofchak (McDonald), guitar.

Parking is available in the Butler parking lots.

Don't Miss a Story

Sign up for our newsletter to receive daily news directly in your inbox.