Cross country team celebrates success


Neighbors | Submitted.The Canfield Cross Country team recently had its annual banquet Nov. 4. Pictured at the banquet is, from left, (front) Rosie Bresson, Jenny McClune, Anna Luongo, Isabelle Moyer, Svetlana Lefoer, Raquel Markulin, Devin Foley; (back) Dan Sylak, Chase Kern, Rollin Bresson, Alec Kennedy, Tyler Kennedy, Head Coach Doug Weitzmann, Tim Fernstrom and Ben Targove.

On Nov. 4, the cross country team celebrated the success of the 2013 season at its annual banquet.

One highlight of the season was that 98 percent of the runners established new personal records for the 3.1 mile distance. Many of them lowered their times on multiple occasions.

Girls team runners receiving recognition were Rosie Bresson and Isabelle Moyer (Most Improved), Jenny McClune and Anna Luongo (First Team All-Conference), Svetlana Lefoer (Coaches Award), Raquel Markulin (First Team All-Conference and Rookie of the Year) and Devin Foley (First Team All-Conference and Most Valuable Performer).

Special recognition on the boys side went to Dan Sylak (Most Improved), Chase Ker, Rollin Bresson and Tyler Kennedy (First Team All-Conference), Alec Kennedy (Most Valuable Performer and (First Team All-Conference), Tim Fernstrom (Coaches Award) and Ben Targove (Rookie of the Year).

Don't Miss a Story

Sign up for our newsletter to receive daily news directly in your inbox.