YSU, Wright State to open tourney

Staff report


Horizon League regular-season champion Wisconsin-Milwaukee will be the top seed in the 2013 conference tournament that begins Wednesday at Eastwood Field.

The winner of the tournament will receive an automatic bid to the NCAA Tournament.

Fifth-seeded Youngstown State will play fourth-seeded Wright State in the first game of the tournament on Wednesday at 3 p.m.

There will be three games on Thursday, starting with No. 2 UIC vs. No. 3 Valparaiso at 11 a.m. Milwaukee will play the winner of the Youngstown State-Wright State game at 3 p.m. and the first elimination game of the tournament will be at 7 p.m.

The winners bracket final will be the second of three games on Friday at 3 p.m. It will be surrounded by elimination games at 11 a.m. and 7 p.m.

The championship game will be Saturday at 11 a.m. If the team emerging from the losers bracket wins that contest, a winner-take-all game will start at 3 p.m.

Admission to Wednesday’s single game will be $5. Single-day passes for Thursday, Friday or Saturday cost $10. An all-tournament pass, good for admission to every game, costs $25.

Horizon League students with a valid ID and children ages 10-and-younger and accompanied by an adult will be admitted free.

Don't Miss a Story

Sign up for our newsletter to receive daily news directly in your inbox.