TCESC awards more than $20K in scholarships

Staff report


Trumbull County Educational Service Center had its annual scholarship banquet last week at Leo’s Ristorante.

More than $20,000 in scholarships were awarded to 45 students from Trumbull County schools.

The Franklin B. Walter All-Scholastic Award, a $2,500 scholarship, was awarded to Lauren Misik from Niles McKinley High School.

Franklin B. Walter nominee textbook awards in the amount of $200 each were given to these students: Katelynn Chilson, Bloomfield High School; Chad Oliver, Bristol High School; Raeschelle Foster, Brookfield High School; Eric Sindle- decker, Champion High School; Samuel Horne, Girard High School; Heather Seagraves, Howland High School; Tyler Korenyi-Both, Hubbard High School; Matthew Kraml, Joseph Badger High School; Paul Zigmont, LaBrae High School; Jordyn Ting, Lakeview High School; Victoria Serrano, Liberty High School; John Tarchick, Lordstown High School; Wyatt Hartman, Maplewood High School; Tyler Hovanec, Mathews High School; Stephen Politano, McDonald High School; Alexis Watson, Newton Falls High School; Susanne Silvernail, Southington Chalker High School; Brenna Hernon, Warren G. Harding High School; and Joshua Durig, Weathersfield Mineral Ridge High School.

First Place Bank awarded Paul A. Watson Academic Scholarships in the amount of $500 each to these Trumbull County students: Katelynn Chilson, Bloomfield-Mespo High School; Megan Adams, Bristol; Diandra Balog, Brookfield; Eric Sindledecker, Champion; Callie Jay, Girard; Taylor Ginnis, Howland; Lilian Hetson, Hubbard; Megan Guliano, John F. Kennedy High School; Austin Ward, Joseph Badger; Spencer Jones, LaBrae; Jaimee Lombard, Lakeview; Jenna Sewell, Liberty; John Tarchick, Lordstown; Wyatt Hartman, Maplewood; Andrew Morgan, Mathews; Michael Raschilla, McDonald; Alexis Watson, Newton Falls; Rachel Fridley, Niles McKinley; Susanne Silvernail, Southington Chalker; Amy VanKanegan, Trumbull Career & Technical Center; Molly Martin, Warren G. Harding; Kelsey Hanson, Victory Christian High School, and Mackenzie Rummell, Weathersfield Mineral Ridge.

The Stanley L. and Grace A. Woofter Scholarship in the amount of $1,500 was presented to Elexis Blake, Bristol, and Zackary Eubank, Newton Falls.

TCESC provides educational leadership and instruction in the areas of curriculum development, special education and technology.

The center employs more than 200 teachers, therapists, psychologists and other specialists who work directly with approximately 3,500 students in 20 school districts.

In addition, the center conducts professional-growth seminars for approximately 2,000 teachers each year.

Serving as a link between the Ohio Department of Education and the schools, TCESC works in conjunction with the school districts to provide programs that promote the highest levels of learning for children in Trumbull County.

Don't Miss a Story

Sign up for our newsletter to receive daily news directly in your inbox.