OSU Young Scholars selected

Staff report


Next week, the Ohio State University Young Scholars Program will formally induct 10 city school students as Pre-Young Scholars.

During the induction ceremony, the program also will recognize six graduating seniors who have completed the program successfully.

These graduating seniors will receive the Young Scholars Scholarship, a full four-year financial package to attend OSU. The 2013 Pre-Young Scholars and their schools are Stephon Abron, Ranaysia Clark, Sonya Lenoir and Aisha Williams, all of Rayen Early College Middle School; Bri’Ann Little, Thomas Steele and Montazia Tolbert, all of Chaney; and Teona Mixon, Duwayne Morant and Tanae Williams, all of Wilson Middle School.

This year’s graduating seniors are Joe Ingram III, Alexis Myers and Nykeesha Thomas, all of Youngstown Early College; TreVon Forte’ of Cardinal Mooney, Melvin Gregory III of Youngstown Christian and Mariah Willis of Liberty High School.

Founded in 1988, YSP seeks to increase the numbers of gifted, first generation, low-income targeted underrepresented students at The Ohio State University.

In honor of its 25th anniversary, the program is inviting YSP alumni and former staff to attend a reunion picnic from noon to 4 p.m. June 1 at the Wick Park Recreational Pavilion.

Don't Miss a Story

Sign up for our newsletter to receive daily news directly in your inbox.