Some Youngstown school principals to be in new posts next year

By Denise Dick


Some positions are being reshuffled to align with the new city school building configuration.

The school board Tuesday approved appointments for several administrators for one- or two-year contracts.

The district is changing next school year, closing its three middle schools, moving the alternative school and changing one of the seven elementary buildings into a Discovery program for third- through eighth-graders.

The Discovery program will be housed at Kirkmere Elementary School. It allows students to choose areas of study from Spanish, engineering/math, visual arts, performing arts, investigative science and creative communications.

The principal at Kirkmere, Donna Cox Bing, is retiring at year’s end.

Lisa Gonzalez-Miller, who was principal at P. Ross Berry Middle School this year, will be principal at Kirkmere next year. Wanda Clark, principal this year at Williamson Elementary, will be an assistant principal at Kirkmere.

Artemus Scissum, who was principal this year at Volney Rogers Middle School, will become principal next year at Williamson.

Woodrow Wilson Middle School’s principal, Jerome Harrell, will be an assistant principal next year at East High School.

Tod Morris, principal this year at University Project Learning Center, the district’s alternative school, will remain in that post. The school, however, moves from the former Mary Haddow School building to what is now Wilson.

Paul C. Bunn, Harding, Martin Luther King, William Holmes McGuffey, Taft and Williamson elementary schools will become pre-kindergarten through sixth-grade schools.

Chaney will remain a visual and performing arts and Science, Technology, Engineering and Math school for sixth- through 12th-graders. But both Chaney and East will offer a Career College Prep Program for seventh- and eighth-graders next year.

The programs for younger students will be self-contained within the buildings with younger students separated from the high-schoolers.

Choffin Career and Technical Center will remain a career and technical school for 11th- and 12th-graders but become an all-day program rather than students spending part of the school day at either East or Chaney.

The school board also voted not to renew the contracts of two administrators. Superintendent Connie Hathorn recommended not renewing contracts for three administrators: Diane Hunsbarger, an assistant principal who worked this year at Chaney; Pamela Logan, supervisor for special education; and Dennis Spisak, intervention administrator.

Hathorn said his recommendation was based on performance.

Board members went with Hathorn’s recommendation with all six board members who attended Tuesday’s meeting voting for Spisak’s nonrenewal.

Board members Richard Atkinson, Marcia Haire-Ellis, Andrea Mahone and Michael Murphy voted in favor of Hunsbarger’s nonrenewal, with Rachel Hanni and Brenda Kimble opposed. Lock P. Beachum Sr. was absent.

Members split on Logan with Atkinson, Murphy and Hanni in favor and Haire-Ellis, Mahone and Kimble opposed. Without a majority vote, the motion failed.

Don't Miss a Story

Sign up for our newsletter to receive daily news directly in your inbox.