Troop hosts Spring Court of Honor


Neighbors | Submitted.Boy Scout Troop 25 recognized, from left, Tanner Tsvetkoff as the 2012 Jimmy Jones Outstanding Scout of the troop and Donny Duda as the 2012 Herman West Most Active Scout.

Boy Scout Troop 25 chartered to Canfield United Methodist Church held their Spring Court of Honor on May 1 in the sanctuary of the church to recognize the accomplishments and honor the scouts who have earned rank advancements, merit badges and other awards in scouting.

Everyone was welcomed by Scoutmaster Kevin Prus Sr., and the Court of Honor was opened by the color guard. Committee Chairman John Kightlinger served as Master of Ceremonies.

Scouts being recognized and their recognitions are: Hunter Amendolea, first class rank; Tyler Aamendolea, first class rank; Ben Boughner, citizenship in the community, citizenship in the nation, citizenship in the world, communications, family life, finger printing, personal fitness and personal management merit badges; Luke Bowser, second class and first class ranks; Patrick Byrne, family life merit badge; Mac Carr, second class rank; Steven Deak, scout rank; Mason Donatelli, scout rank; Donny Duda, camping, citizenship in the world, communications, family life and personal fitness merit badges; Eric Henderson, star rank, Archaeology, citizenship in the nation, citizenship in the world and first aid merit badges; Sam Griffiths, scout rank; Jacob Kusjaz, scout rank; Matt Mosier, Camping merit badge; Zack Perrico, scout rank; Mike Ramunno, life rank, citizenship in the nation, citizenship in the world and personal management merit badges; Tanner Tsvetkoff, second class and first class ranks and finger printing merit badge; Adrian Willoughby,family life merit badge and Isaac Wood-second class rank.

Several awards unique to Troop 25 were also presented. The Bob Roberts Memorial Backpatch Award is a program designed to honor the former troop leader who was not only creative and very talented with his metal work in making troop equipment, but also wanted to encourage scouts to advance along the scouting trail.

The backpatch is composed of a center patch, earned when the scout achieves First Class rank and approximately 15 points that a scout as well as an adult can earn. Scouts receiving the center patch were Hunter Amendolea, Tyler Amendolea, Luke Bowser, Hunter Hykes, Trevor Hykes, Matt Mosier, Tanner Tsvetkoff and Adrian Willoughby. Receiving the Summer Camp and Survival Camp points were Luke Bowser and Tanner Tsvetkoff.

Receiving the Junior Leader Training (JLT) point were Matt Mosier and Tanner Tsvetkoff. Receiving the Historic Hike point was Tanner Tsvetkoff. Receiving their Eagle Scout points were Ben Boughner and Donny Duda.

The Order of the ANTS pin is an award created in 1962 by Myron “Mike” Ullman. Those receiving the pin were Luke Bowser, Eric Henderson and Tanner Tsvetkoff.

A highlight of the evening was the awarding of two special Troop 25 awards. These two awards are named after Jimmy Jones and Herman West. Jones was instrumental in the development of Troop 25 from its beginning in 1926 and kept it going for many years especially during WWII. West was an Eagle Scout of Troop 25 and later served as its Scoutmaster for many years. Both were prominent citizens of Canfield and both had served as the Postmaster of Canfield.

The 2012 recipient of the Herman West Most Active Scout Award is Donny Duda and the recipient of the 2012 Jimmy Jones Outstanding Scout Award is Tanner Tsvetkoff.

Troop 25 meets every Wednesday at 7 p.m. in the basement of Canfield United Methodist Church at 27 S. Broad St. For more information about the troop and its activities, contact Kevin Prus Sr., at 330-533-5616.

Don't Miss a Story

Sign up for our newsletter to receive daily news directly in your inbox.