13 are designated master teachers

Staff report


Thirteen area educators have been designated master teachers by submitting a portfolio of work to the Mahoning County Educational Service Center.

The portfolios were then scrutinized and scored by a committee of master teachers. The master-teacher program is directed by the Ohio Department of Education and the Ohio Educator Standards Board.

According to the Ohio Department of Education, “A master teacher demonstrates excellence inside and outside of the classroom through consistent leadership and focused collaboration to maximize student learning. A master teacher strives for distinguished teaching and continued professional growth as specified by the Ohio Standards for the Teaching Profession.”

Teachers must demonstrate excellence in consistent leadership, focused collaboration, distinguished teaching — focus on students and environment, distinguished teaching — focus on content, instruction and assessment; and continued professional growth.

The list of the 2013 Master Teachers from the Mahoning County and Columbiana Exempted School District are: Janet Detwiler, Sherri McKeown and Heather Wukelich, all of Austintown Local School District; Kristi Ebben, Columbiana Exempted School District; Julie Pagnotta, Mahoning Career and Technical Center; Pamela Angelilli, Janice Hohloch, Alaina McMahon and Haley Shaffer, all of Poland School District; Leann Laure, Sebring Local School District; Kathleen Hull and Krista Hosler, both of South Range Local School District; and Tracey Hinkle, West Branch Local Schools.

Don't Miss a Story

Sign up for our newsletter to receive daily news directly in your inbox.