Wolfe, Bush earn All-Ohio special mention

Staff report

Poland junior Jacob Wolfe and Salem senior Ryan Bush both earned Special Mention status on the Division II All-Ohio boys basketball team as selected by the Associated Press.

Deontay Scott of East High and Anthony Bell of Warren Harding were Honorable Mention choices in Division I, and Cardinal Mooney’s Doug Caputo was Honorable Mention in Division II.

Wolfe, a 6-foot-4 forward, paced the Bulldogs to a 20-2 regular season and a co-championship of the All-American Conference American Division. He averaged 15.9 points and 8.3 rebounds per game.

Bush scored at a 22.9 point per game clip for the Quakers. The 6-foot-1 guard led Salem to a 19-7 record and a berth in the district final.

Caputo, a 6-7 senior, averaged 16 points per game in helping Mooney to the district championship.

Scott, a 6-4 senior, averaged 19 points for East which finished 18-7. Bell, a 6-2 junior, scored 15.3 per game for Harding which finished 13-10.

Player of the year in Division I is Marc Loving of Toledo St. John’s. Coaches of the year are Ed Heintschel of Toledo St. John’s, Sean Taylor of Columbus Northland and Ricardo Hill of Cincinnati Walnut Hills.

Players of the year in Division II are Dan Monteroso of St. Clairsville, Luke Kennard of Franklin and Vitto Brown of Bowling Green.

Coaches of the year are Joe Petrocelli of Kettering Alter, Doug Davis of Lima Bath, David Bargar of Chagrin Falls and Frank Spotleson of Canton South.

Don't Miss a Story

Sign up for our newsletter to receive daily news directly in your inbox.