The 2013 Campbell mayoral race is a rematch from two years ago

By David Skolnick


Campbell Mayor William J. VanSuch eked out a 20-vote victory over Lewis F. Jackson Jr. two years ago.

The two will go at it again as they were the only candidates to file by Wednesday’s deadline to run for mayor.

They will meet in the Nov. 5 general election as long as their eligibility is certified by the Mahoning County Board of Elections.

Both have extensive political careers.

VanSuch was appointed mayor on Jan. 4, 2011, when then-Mayor George Krinos resigned. VanSuch was then council president.

In addition to his two-plus years as mayor and six years as council president, he’s been in public office as a member of council or as city administrator since 1974.

Jackson last served in public office in 2011 as 4th Ward councilman. Before that, he spent six years as administrator and as 4th Ward councilman from 1999 to 2004.

VanSuch won the 2011 mayoral race by 0.70 percent, 1,448 to 1,428.

Incumbents in Campbell for director of law, council president and council members serving in the 1st, 2nd and 3rd Wards are running unopposed.

In the 4th Ward, incumbent Robert Yankle, a former council president elected to the ward seat in the 2011 race, is being challenged by Juanita Rich, who previously served as 4th Ward councilwoman and council president.

The charters of Campbell and Sebring require nonpartisan runoffs on the sixth Tuesday before the general election. That date this year is Sept. 24.

Runoffs are to reduce the number of candidates to no more than two in a race. Because there are already no more than two in any race, there won’t be a September runoff.

In Sebring, four candidates are running for four at-large council seats so there won’t be a runoff in that village.

Also, unless there are write-in candidates, the four who filed by Wednesday’s deadline will run unopposed in the November general election.

Don't Miss a Story

Sign up for our newsletter to receive daily news directly in your inbox.