YWCA features preview party and winners


The 31st Annual Women Artists: A Celebration! art show preview party will take place from 7 to 9 p.m. today at the YWCA, 25 W. Rayen Ave.

Award winners for the 2013 show are as follows:

Margaret Evans Memorial Award, Sara Oliver, “French Vanilla,” woodcut.

Women’s Art Committee Award, Nikki Mehle, “Fridge,” mixed media.

YWCA Award, Tazim Jaffer, “Human Rights,” photo-painting compilation.

Kathy Koop Memorial Clay Award, Gail Trunick, “Escaping from the Human Race,” clay-found objects.

Mahoning Valley Watercolor Society Watermedia Award, Lotte Herwig-Erhardt, “Green Bowl with Apples,” watercolor.

The Muransky Companies Award, Gloria Williams, “Blue Bird of Happiness,” oil.

Eileen D. Scragg Memorial Award, Georgian LaGuardia, “Nature’s Designs #4,” charcoal.

Watercolor Award, Rachel Griffin, “Upside—Downside,” watercolor.

YAFWC Award, Cheryl Eddie Deibel, “Floating,” textile.

Artists of Mahoning Commons Award, Heather Seno, “Wrapped,” serigraph.

The exhibit will be open and free to the public from noon to 4 p.m. Monday through July 19. It will be closed July 4, 6 and all Sundays except July 14.

On display will be 125 artworks by 61 artists who contributed paintings, drawings, photographs, sculptures, fiber works, ceramics and metalworks. Artists are local, regional and national.

Proceeds will benefit the YWCA Housing Programs.

A People’s Choice Award will be presented for the most popular artwork, and an artwork drawing will take place at the closing party July 19. Visit www.ywca.org to view the raffle artwork. Raffle tickets are for sale at the YWCA.

For information call 330-746-6361.

Don't Miss a Story

Sign up for our newsletter to receive daily news directly in your inbox.