Tressel among YSU Athletics Hall of Fame inductees

Jim Tressel, Youngstown State's former football coach and athletic director, headlines a class of seven newly elected into the YSU Athletics Hall of Fame, the university announced Tuesday.

Joining Tressel, who won 135 games and led the Penguins to four Division I-AA national championships in 15 seasons at YSU, are Darnell Clark (football), LeVar Greene (football), Tom Harder (football), Anthony Hunt (men’s basketball), Santi Nalluri (women’s tennis) and Mark Thomas (baseball).

The new class will be inducted into the Hall of Fame on Saturday, Nov. 16, when the Penguins host two-time defending national champion North Dakota State in the annual Hall of Fame Game. The induction ceremony and breakfast is slated for 9:30 a.m. and kickoff between the Penguins and Bison is set for 2 p.m.

Visit later and read Wednesday's Vindicator sports section for complete details.

Don't Miss a Story

Sign up for our newsletter to receive daily news directly in your inbox.