The two boards will use one administration

By Denise Dick


Boards of the Mahoning County Educational Service Center and the career and technical center plan to share administrations and are exploring the prospects of the ESC constructing a building near the CTC.

Ron Iarussi, ESC superintendent, said that both boards have passed resolutions to consolidate administrations when Roan Craig, CTC superintendent, retires in August 2014.

Last year, the boards opted to share the same treasurer rather than having one treasurer for each.

“Anything we can do to become more efficient and [improve] cost savings has to be on the table,” Iarussi said.

James Hall, president of the career and technical center’s board, agreed.

“The lower our overhead is, the less we have to charge back to the local districts,” he said.

The ESC, located off of Market Street in Boardman, provides services to most school districts in Mahoning County including special education, curriculum and occupational therapy. The career and technical center in Canfield provides career and technical education to students and adults.

Hall said there’s no plan to change those missions or combine the institutions.

Both Hall and Iarussi said the exploration into an ESC office building constructed near the career and technical center is in the preliminary phases. The center advertised for requests for proposals from architects, but no decisions have been made.

Having the two facilities close to each other would reduce travel time and allow more collaboration, Hall said.

The career and technical center has a conference center that’s used already by the ESC for in-service training.

It’s undetermined how the change in the composition of career and technical center boards will affect the plans.

Gov. John Kasich’s latest budget signed earlier this month changes the make-up of CTC boards. It requires that members have business leadership experience although it’s unclear when sitting members will be replaced.

Members of the Mahoning ESC board are elected by voters and appoint themselves to the CTC board. The CTC board has two additional members from Struthers and Campbell who are appointed by those local boards of education.

The Columbiana County Vocational School District is governed by representatives from its nine local partner districts and the Trumbull County Career and Technical Center board consists of one school board member from each of the 15 member school districts.

Don't Miss a Story

Sign up for our newsletter to receive daily news directly in your inbox.