Nobody wins — or not

Nobody wins — or not

Chicago Tribune: Fans can’t be surprised that home run king Barry Bonds, ace pitcher Roger Clemens and slugger Sammy Sosa were not elected to the National Baseball Hall of Fame this year.

All three have been linked to performance-enhancing drugs. We get that. They don’t deserve the honor.

But the baseball writers also declined to admit Astros’ slugger Craig Biggio (68.2 percent); his teammate, first baseman Jeff Bagwell (59.6 percent); Mets catcher Mike Piazza (57.8 percent); or any of 31 other eligible players.

For only the eighth time, no player was elected. Bummer.

We’re just disappointed when a momentous honor is in play and the winner is ... nobody.

Copyright 2013 Associated Press. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.

More like this from

Subscribe Today

Sign up for our email newsletter to receive daily news.

Want more? Click here to subscribe to either the Print or Digital Editions.