Jewish Federation recognized winners

The Jewish Community Relations Council of the Youngstown Area Jewish Federation recognized winners of its annual Student Holocaust Writing Contest at the 20th annual Holocaust Commemoration event Thursday at the Mahoning County Courthouse in Youngstown. The theme was “Never Again: Heeding the Warning Signs.” Winners in grades seven and eight are:

Ricky Sammartino, poetry, Boardman Center Middle School.

Maria Serra, essay, Boardman Center Middle School.

Winners in ninth and 10th grades are:

Nektarios Kasamias, essay, Boardman High School.

Claire Killian, poetry, Howland High School.

Winners in 11th and 12th grades are:

Jordan Fenton, poetry, Champion High School.

Emily Price, essay, Howland High School.

Honorable mention in grades seven and eight went to:

Morgan Coleman, poetry, Austintown Middle School.

Christopher Gerberry, poetry, Austintown Middle.

D’Ella Heschmeyer, essay, Akiva Academy.

Jackie Muccio, poetry, Austintown Middle.

Alexander Richards, essay, Boardman Center.

Honorable mention in ninth and 10th grades went to:

Alexis Ballerstein, poetry, Beaver Local High School.

Colton Blair, essay, Beaver Local.

Briana Aberegg-Blake, poetry, Sebring McKinley High School.

Hannah Cooley, poetry, Howland High School.

Brooke Kulusich, poetry, Howland High School.

Joseph Fitzpatrick, poetry, Howland High.

Autumn Heald, essay, Howland High.

Joey Hollback, essay, Sebring McKinley.

Kourtney Husnick, poetry, Brookfield High School.

Olivia Ramsey, poetry, Salem High School.

Jordan Simpson, poetry, Beaver Local.

Samara Stewart, poetry, Niles High School.

Honorable mention in 11th and 12th grades went to:

Sean Knepper, poetry, LaBrae High School.

Source: Youngstown Area Jewish Federation

Don't Miss a Story

Sign up for our newsletter to receive daily news directly in your inbox.