SPORTS DIGEST || YSU baseball team falls to West Virginia

YSU baseball team falls to West Virginia


Youngstown State starting pitcher Russ Harless allowed two runs in six innings, but the Penguins only backed him with one run and eventually fell 5-1 at West Virginia University.

Harless, making his second start of the year, surrendered two runs on seven hits without walking a batter in his six innings. The sophomore right-hander struck out three, and one of the two runs he gave up was a solo homer on the second pitch of the game.

WVU starter Brock Dykxhoorn won for the second straight decision, matching Harless with six innings but allowed just one run on three hits.

YSU’s Drew Dosch doubled to start the fourth inning and Neil Schroth doubled him home.

LaBrae blanks Campbell


Winning pitcher Emily Dugan tossed a two-hitter and tripled as the LaBrae High softball team shut out Campbell, 18-0, on Tuesday.

Somer McCoy tripled and doubled, Kasey Rininger tripled and Brooklyn Weber doubled,

Eggens tosses 2-hitter


Cheyenne Eggens tossed a two-hitter, striking out 12, as the Mathews High softball team defeated Pymatuning Valley, 9-0, on Tuesday.

Eggens also hit two doubles. Tabby Granelly scored three runs and and stole three bases while Maddi Grimes drove in two runs. Jackie Rhine doubled.

Sharon Speedway sets Saturday program


Racing at Sharon Speedway will get under way on Saturday at 7 p.m. featuring the “Steel Valley Thunder” program consisting of Governor Insurance Agency DIRTcar Big-Block Modifieds, Barris Supply RUSH Late Models, Summit Racing Equipment Modifieds, Gibson Insurance Agency Stock Cars, HTMA/Precise Racing Products Econo Mods and the Deforest Used Parts Mini Stocks.

Pits open at 4 p.m. Grandstands seats are open at 5 and heat races are slated for 7. Grandstand admission for those 14 and older cost $13. Children are admitted free. Pit passes cost $25.

Sharon Speedway is owned by the Blaney, Weller and Kirila families. It is a 3/8-mile dirt track located on Custer-Orangeville Road near the intersection of Routes 7 and 305. For more information, check out the website at or call 330-772-5481.

NFL invites 23 to attend draft


Twenty-three players headed for the NFL will attend the draft on April 25.

The league says Wednesday that four players from national champion Alabama will be on hand at Radio City Music Hall: tackle D.J. Fluker, running back Eddie Lacy, cornerback Dee Milliner, and guard Chance Warmack. Four players from Florida State — quarterback E.J. Manuel, defensive end Bjoern Werner, tackle Menelik Watson, and cornerback Xavier Rhodes also will attend.

All-Americans Werner, Warmack, Milliner, tackle Luke Joeckel of Oklahoma, receiver Tavon Austin of West Virginia and guard Jonathan Cooper of North Carolina will attend.

Kansas City has the first pick in the draft.

Ryan to remain Rangers CEO


Nolan Ryan is staying in his role as chief executive officer of the Texas Rangers.

After weeks of speculation about his future with the team, Ryan and the Rangers issued statements Wednesday that the Hall of Fame pitcher would remain. That came after the end of the first homestand of the season.

Ryan has remained quiet publicly about his plans since it was announced March 1 that general manager Jon Daniels and chief operating officer Rick George had been promoted with new presidential titles. Ryan had been president and CEO.

Staff/wire reports

Don't Miss a Story

Sign up for our newsletter to receive daily news directly in your inbox.