American Heart Association to honor community leaders



Robert K. Yosay | The Vindicator American Heart Association’s 2013 Heart Ball will be April 27 at Stambaugh Auditorium in Youngstown, and will honor three community leaders. From left are Dr. Jason R. Delatore, honoree; Dr. Nancy Landgraff of YSU, chairwoman; and Celia Ciarniello and Dr. Amarjeet S. Nagpaul, honorees.


Three leaders in the community will be honored at the American Heart Association’s 2013 Heart Ball, the tri-county area’s annual black-tie gala, April 27 at Stambaugh Auditorium, 1000 Fifth Ave.

Tickets are $150 per person. A portion of the ticket is tax-deductible. Proceeds will fund heart disease and stroke research and educational programs throughout the community and across the country.

For information about tickets and sponsorship opportunities call the American Heart Association at 330-318-1003.

Celia M. Ciarniello, a community volunteer, philanthropist and heart disease survivor, is the recipient of the 2013 Heart of the Community Award. The 2013 Cardiac Service Award will be presented to both Dr. Jason Delatore of Humility of Mary Health Partners and Dr. Amarjeet S. Nagpaul of ValleyCare Health System. The honorees have each made significant contributions to the health of the community.

There will be live and silent auction items, an open-your-heart appeal for pediatric cardiovascular research, dinner, dancing and more.

The 2013 Heart Ball chairwoman is Dr. Nancy Landgraff, physical therapy professor and department chair at Youngstown State University and Tri-County American Heart Association board chairwoman.

The gala is sponsored by the Regina M. Rebhan Family Foundation/Warren Fabricating and Machining Corp. as the research reception sponsor; St. Elizabeth Heart and Vascular Center and Humility of Mary Health Partners as the open your heart sponsor; ValleyCare Health System, premier sponsor; and gold table sponsors are Bob and Chuck Eddy Chrysler, Dodge, Jeep, Ram and Chuck Eddy Fiat, Casal’s D Spa and Salon, Sam and Caryn Covelli and YSU. Floral underwriter is DeBartolo Corp./Denise and John York and media sponsor is WFMJ 21 and WBCB.

The heart association was founded in 1924 to prevent, treat and defeat America’s No. 1 and No. 4 killers, heart disease and stroke.

Don't Miss a Story

Sign up for our newsletter to receive daily news directly in your inbox.