Tigers’ Smith Div. II POY

Staff report

A pair of area Big 10 recruits may line up against each other in the Big House or the Horseshoe in a couple of years.

But today, they’re sharing the stage.

Fitch’s Billy Price and Howland’s De’Veon Smith were named defensive and offensive players of the year in Ohio by the Associated Press, respectively, with Price being honored in Division I and Smith taking the top award in Division II.

Price, an Ohio State recruit, was also named the Northeast Inland division’s defensive player of the year after helping Fitch fi nish 9-2 and qualify for the playoffs after missing out in 2011.

Price is listed at 6-foot-4, 312 pounds.

Smith earned offensive player of the year honors in the district, too, after helping the Tigers (8-3) win the AAC’s American Division.

He also helped the Tigers qualify for the postseasonfor the sixth straight season.The University of Michigan recruit set Trumbull County’s all-time rushing record. He ran for 1,751 yards and 25 TDs this season.

Wide receiver Jalyn Powell and running back LeShun Daniels, both from Warren Harding earned first-team honors in Division I.

The Raiders returned to the playoffs in 2012 under new head coach, Steve Arnold, after a rare one-year hiatus.

Matt Futkos and Keith Lawrence, both Fitch seniors, were special mentions in Division I. Justin Babos, who anchored the Boardman defense was also a special mention.

Elyria’s Tracy Sprinkle and Shane Jones of Cincinnati Moeller shared the defensive honor with Price. Mentor quarterback Mitch Trubisky was named Offensive Player of the Year.

Jerry Bell of Toledo Whitmer and Steve Channell of Miamisburg shared Coach of the Year honors.

In Division II, Howland junior T.K. Fortson, a 6-foot, 170-pound linebacker, was named to the defensive third-team.

Defensive Player of the Year went to Michael McCray of Trotwood-Madion. Cincinnati Northwest coach Chad Murphy was named Coach of the Year.

All-Ohio honors in Div. III-IV will be released today with V-VI coming out on Wednesday.

Ohio’s Mr. Football will also be announced on Wednesday.

Don't Miss a Story

Sign up for our newsletter to receive daily news directly in your inbox.