Sunday, May 20, 2018

NAMII announces executive panel

Published: 11/20/12 @ 12:00

Staff report


The National Additive Manufacturing Innovation Institute has announced the appointments to its executive committee, completing its organizational structure and laying the groundwork for its research and development efforts.

Announced in August, NAMII is a consortium of more than 65 private and public institutions dedicated to finding more commercial applications for additive manufacturing, a process that utilizes a variety of materials and computer software to print products layer-by-layer in less time and at lower costs.

The executive committee will consist of 11 members, who will help promote collaborative efforts among the consortium’s members.

Gary Fedder, of Carnegie Mellon University, and Jim McGuffin-Cawley, of Case Western Reserve University, will sit on the committee as its academic representatives.

Eric Barnes, of Northrop Grumman Corp., and Jim Williams, of 3D Systems, will serve as industry representatives.

Tim Shinbara, from the Association for Manufacturing Technology, and Mark Tomlinson, of the Society of Manufacturing Engineers, will represent nonprofit organizations.

At-large committee members will be Bill Macy of Stratasys and Tom Stimson of Timken Co.

Bruce Kramer, John Russell and Robert Ivester will represent the National Science Foundation, the Department of Defense and the Department of Energy, respectively, as the federal government’s committee members.

Don't Miss a Story

Sign up for our newsletter to receive daily news directly in your inbox.