TRUMBULL COUnty SWCD re-elects 2 supervisors

Staff report


Richard Houk of Newton Township and Peter Kepner of Hartford Township were re-elected as supervisors of the Trumbull Soil & Water Conservation District at the SWCD’s 62nd annual meeting recently.

Richard Houk is completing his 15th year on the board and is secretary. He is active in the Trumbull County Farm Bureau and Western Reserve Resource and Conservation District, where he served as president during 2007-08. He is also a Trumbull County Fair Board member.

Peter Kepner is completing his 12th year on the SWCD board. The Hartford native, along with his wife, Mary, operates a 250-acre crop farm in Hartford Township and until 1995 had a herd of Holsteins. He is a member of the Trumbull County Farm Bureau, Trumbull County Agriculture Society, Hartford United Methodist Church and National Lyme Disease Association. He has also been a director of the local and state Holstein Association. He is the SWCD board chairman and serves on the policy committee.

SWCD supervisors are elected public officials who volunteer to assist residents and property owners with natural resource issues. Each county in Ohio has five SWCD supervisors serving three-year terms and are elected by the residents and property owners of their county. The other three Trumbull SWCD supervisors are Davis Denman of Johnston Township, Bruce Lev of Liberty Township and Jan Solomon of Lordstown.

Don't Miss a Story

Sign up for our newsletter to receive daily news directly in your inbox.