Rural Kinsman in Northern Trumbull County boasts a bounty of historical homes, and admirers can step inside a choice few during the town’s biannual Harvest of Homes Tour on Saturday.
Sponsored by the Kinsman Historical Society, the tour lasts from 10 a.m. until 5 p.m. and features six homes dating from the 1830s through the 20th century.
Tickets are $10 per person and are available from 10 a.m. until 3 p.m. the day of the tour at Kinsman United Methodist Church at 8362 Main St.
The first home on the tour, a charming Edwardian showpiece at 8357 Main, is owned by Shirley Davis. This turn-of-the-century dwelling includes decorative porches and panels, an elegant stairway, intricate woodwork and stained-glass windows.
During the tour, an old-fashioned quilting bee will take place upstairs.
The next home serves as the manse for the Kinsman Presbyterian Church at 8365 Main. Built around 1875, the spacious Italian villa-style residence boasts a double-door entrance, bay windows, a sweeping walnut staircase and broad, molded woodwork.
The church’s original manse, a home built in 1838, is the third residence on the tour. It is at 8399 Main and is owned by Robert and Marie Wiland.
Architect Willis Smith built the home, which previously sat at the corner of Church and Main streets. It was moved to its present location in 1875 when the current manse was constructed.
The home originally was a single story dwelling, and the second story rooms have ceilings that are taller than those on the first floor. The interior of the home has been lovingly stenciled and is decorated with antiques, some of which have family significance. The backyard features quaint flower gardens.
Next is the home owned by Aaron and Melissa Miller at 9590 Kinsman-Pymatuning Road. It was built around 1900 and is part of a 93-acre organic farm where the Millers raise grass-fed cattle and pigs. The home has been extensively renovated to reflect a mix of rustic elegance and country comfort, and a spacious addition includes a downstairs master bedroom and bath.
Unique salvage pieces, such as a bathroom backsplash assembled from objects found on Lake Erie beaches and kitchen cupboards from a general store in West Farmington, add to the home’s appeal. The kitchen countertops are made from slate chalkboards retrieved from the old Joseph Badger High School and a decorative round window in the home’s west gable also was salvaged from the old school.
The fifth home at 8189 Main isn’t visible from the road and is owned by Gerald Pompeii. The core of this home is a frame outbuilding constructed in 1911. When Pompeii bought the place in 1971, the building was stacked to the rafters with bags of fertilizer and the floor had collapsed.
Inside the 20-by-30-foot shell, Pompeii built a new house and gradually added a screened porch, a garage, and a great room that includes oak woodwork and a stunning entertainment center. The home’s office contains a fireplace and a massive mahogany bookcase, and in the kitchen, a bay window frames lovely views of Pymatuning Creek and a beautifully landscaped lawn.
The Jedediah Burnham House, 6149 Burnett-East Road, was built by architect Willis Smith in 1830 for Burnham and his wife. The exterior of the home was moderately elaborate for the time period, but the interior was modest and included exposed, whitewashed ceiling beams that remain visible today.
Town founder John Kinsman encouraged Burnham, the son of a Connecticut physician, to settle here and even lent him a horse for the journey. Burnham arrived around 1805 and taught school, clerked in Kinsman’s store and became a tax collector. He later served in the War of 1812, where he rose to the rank of captain. In 1814 he married Sophia Bidwell and served as Kinsman’s justice of the peace from 1816 until 1837.
His farm grew to comprise 300 acres, and the house saw many changes over the years including the addition of other small dwellings on the property that remain today.
Tour-goers should be prepared to remove their shoes when entering homes. The Kinsman United Methodist Church will offer lunch from 11 a.m. until 2 p.m.