- Advertisement -
  • Most Commentedmost commented up
  • Most Emailedmost emailed up
  • Popularmost popular up
- Advertisement -

« News Home

A timeless span

Published: Mon, November 28, 2011 @ 12:25 a.m.


Mill Creek Park

Mill Creek Park’s iconic and historic Silver Bridge


By William D. Lewis


Nestled deep in the heart of Mill Creek Park is a treasure that dates back more than 100 years.

The Suspension Bridge, also known as the Silver Bridge, Cinderella Bridge or Fairy Tale Bridge, has been a favorite for generations of park visitors.

The bridge’s aesthetic lines and view of Mill Creek have drawn artists, photographers and folks who find solitude there.

Built in 1895 by the Youngstown Bridge Co., the 86-foot-long structure spans Mill Creek joining the park’s east and west sides on Valley Drive. It is the historic park’s oldest bridge.

According to Mill Creek MetroPark’s website, park founder Volney Rogers, in 1891, wished to create fanciful entrances to the park.

Bridge designer Charles E. Fowler of Youngstown Bridge certainly accomplished Rogers’ wishes in his use of spires and arches in the historic bridge.

Motorists crossing the Silver Bridge often slow down or stop to take in the view. Most pedestrians crossing the span pause to listen to the sound of Mill Creek below while some pull out a camera and snap a few photos.

One such pedestrian crossing the bridge on a recent day was Jack Duer, a retired Liberty police officer who, along with his dog, “Token,” paused to take in the view. “This bridge is beautiful, and I just love this park,” said Duer, a frequent park visitor.

With most things that have surpassed the 100-year mark, time took its toll on the structure, and the iconic span needed some upgrading. In 2007, the bridge underwent a $523,000 restoration project to preserve its aesthetic features and keep it structurally sound.

In 1976, the bridge earned placement on the National Register of Historic Places.


1Ianacek(900 comments)posted 2 years, 9 months ago

The silver bridge is certainly iconic . It's a shame Mill Creek Park isn't integrated more with the surrounding urban area .

One thing that could be done in this respect would be removing trees at strategic points to create view shafts . Glenwood & West Midlothian would be an excellent site for a picnic area & pedestrian or vehicle access to the Lake .

There could be signposts on Market Street & maybe Mill Creek could acquire the contract to maintain pocket & neighborhood parks for the City? Just some ideas to be going on with .. .

Suggest removal:


HomeTerms of UsePrivacy StatementAdvertiseStaff DirectoryHelp
© 2014 Vindy.com. All rights reserved. A service of The Vindicator.
107 Vindicator Square. Youngstown, OH 44503

Phone Main: 330.747.1471 • Interactive Advertising: 330.740.2955 • Classified Advertising: 330.746.6565
Sponsored Links: Vindy Wheels | Vindy Jobs | Vindy Homes | Pittsburgh International Airport