Liberty Twp. retains Stoyak; Warren BOE gets new faces

SEE ALSO: Trumbull transit levy goes down to defeat

By Ed Runyan


Liberty Township voters have retained eight-year veteran Trustee Jodi Stoyak after a race that pitted her against a former trustee and a political newcomer.

Jack Simon, 57, who served as Liberty trustee 12 years before being unseated two years ago, fell short in his attempt to regain the seat he’d lost to another opponent.

Political newcomer Rachel Hill, 60, was a distant third in Tuesday’s race.

Simon said he knew it would be a close race between him and Stoyak because Stoyak has been popular.

Hill’s campaign focused on crime, calling on trustees to hire additional police officers.

Stoyak said Tuesday night: “The board in place is a board that cares about the community and has the vision to lead the community in the direction it needs to go in these tough economic times.”

In Warren, two newcomers will be sitting on the board of education after voters gave the fewest votes to Clyde Wilson in a four-person race for three seats.

Two incumbents, Ed Bolino and Kevin Stringer, chose not to run for re-election.

Rhonda Baldwin-Amorganos, 44, treasurer for the Hubbard Village Exempted School District, won a seat on her first try for public office.

Another newcomer elected is steelworker Andre Coleman, 32, who was also a football standout at Warren Harding High School and Youngstown State University.

Coleman said one reason he wanted to be a school board member was to demand a higher level of academic achievement from student athletes.

The one incumbent in the race, Patti Limperos, was re-elected despite accusations directed at her regarding the nature of a party she attended in recent months that was also attended by Harding High School students. Some have suggested that alcohol was being consumed by students at the party.

Wilson is retired after 38 years as human-relations representative at Delphi Packard Electric.

Lordstown voters picked Arno Hill, one of the county’s few Republican politicians, to lead them in the mayor’s office.

Hill, a Lordstown councilman, defeated Democrat Michael Sullivan by less than 1 percent in complete but unofficial results.

Hill was mayor of Lordstown from 1993 to 2003. Sullivan still has a year left on his term on Lordstown Village Council.

Hill said he is pleased to have won because he faced several Democratic opponents — Sullivan and several unions.

“I won for Lordstown,” Hill said. “It’s more for Lordstown than for the Republican Party.”

In Newton Falls, Councilman James Luonuansuu lost to challenger Phillip Beer in the Fourth Ward, while Mayor Lyle Waddell held off a challenge from write-in candidate Gideon A. Fetterolf.

Waddell assumed office a year ago, after a successful recall of former mayor Pat Layshock.

Incumbent 2nd-Ward council member Nancy H. Hoffman defeated a write-in challenger, Mary S. Lane.

Don't Miss a Story

Sign up for our newsletter to receive daily news directly in your inbox.