New diocesan alignment announced by Bishop Murry

Bishop George V. Murry of the Catholic Diocese of Youngstown is confident that parishioners will accept a diocese reconfiguration plan announced this morning.

“In order to grow, all of us must leave something behind,” he said. “But we are not alone in our journey.”

Bishop Murry said the final plan is very similar to what was released in February.

He said at that time five parishes sent in suggestions, and four of these were incorporated into the final plan. The bishop did not discuss specific changes during a news conference this morning.

He said there will be 87 total parishes once the reconfiguration is complete.

The bishop said the plan should take about two years to implement, though some parishes are ready to begin now.

Columbiana (County) Deanery

Collaborative units:

St. Jude, Columbiana and Our Lady of Lourdes, East Palestine.

St. Paul, Salem and St. Patrick, Leetonia.

St. George, Lisbon; St. Agatha Mission, West Point; St. John, Summitville; St. Philip Neri, Dungannon; and St. Patrick, Salineville.

Merged units:

St. Aloysius and St. Ann, East Liverpool; and Immaculate Conception, Wellsville.

Mahoning North and South Deaneries

Single units: Immaculate Heart of Mary and St. Joseph, Austintown; St. Charles, St. Luke and St. Edward, Boardman; St. Michael, Canfield; St. Paul the Apostle, New Middletown; Holy Family, Poland; St. Christine, Youngstown, St. Columba, and St. Brendan Youngstown; and Holy Rosary, Lowellville.

Collaborative unit: St. Dominic and St. Patrick

Merged units:

St. Elizabeth; St. John the Baptist; St. Joseph the Provider; St. Lucy and St. Rose of Lima.

Sts. Cyril & Methodius; Holy Name; and St. Mathias.

St. Casmir, St. Stanislaus and St. Columba

St. Anthony and Our Lady of Mt. Carmel.

St. Stephen of Hungary; Our Lady of Hungary and Sts. Peter & Paul.

St. Nicholas and Holy Trinity, Struthers. Immaculate Conception and Sacred Heart, Youngstown.

St. Catherine, Lake Milton, and St. James, North Jackson.

Trumbull (County) Deanery

Single units: St. William, Champion; St. Robert, Cortland; St. Patrick, Hubbard; St. Mary and St. Joseph, Newton Falls; Queen of the Holy Rosary, Vienna; Blessed Sacrament, Warren; and Our Lady of Mount Carmel, Niles; St. Mary, Warren.

Collaborative units:

St. Stephen, Niles and St. Mary, Mineral Ridge. St. Rose, Girard and Our Lady of Perpetual Help, McDonald.

Merged units: St. Bernadette, Masury and St. Vincent de Paul, Vienna. St. James and Sts. Cyril & Methodius, Warren. St. Pius X, St. Joseph and Christ Our King, Warren.

Source: Youngstown Catholic Diocese

More like this from

Subscribe Today

Sign up for our email newsletter to receive daily news.

Want more? Click here to subscribe to either the Print or Digital Editions.