WARREN’S HISTORIC COURTHOUSE
By Geoffrey Hauschild
On Thanksgiving Day, Nov. 18, 1895, the cornerstone for the Trumbull County Courthouse in Warren was laid for $200,000, and a year and a half later, May 10, 1897, the building at 161 High St. N.W. had its dedication at the opening of the county common pleas court’s May term.
The building was the third of its kind on the very same public green — it is now called Courthouse Park — the first completed in 1815 and the second in 1854.
The first courthouse was replaced after becoming dilapidated, and the second burned down March 25, 1895.
The commissioners selected architects LaBelle and Fench of Marion, Ind., for the third courthouse project. E.M. Campfield of Findlay was awarded the construction contract.
The courthouse features Romanesque-style architecture with an Amherst sandstone exterior and boasts Ohio’s largest common pleas courtroom.
The courtroom itself boasts Renaissance decoration with olive and chamois hues, paneled oak wainscoting and oak tables.
The building was placed on the National Register of Historic Places in 1974.
In 1993, the county commissioners selected Dijk, Pace, Westlake and Partners of Cleveland as architects to renovate the courthouse. Jack Gibson Construction Co. of Warren was the general contractor for the structure’s renovation.