Teams write new chapter in Valley’s football tradition

Mooney Vs. DeSales

inline tease photo

Ursuline Vs. Coldwater

inline tease photo

By Rob Todor


The list of great names and teams reflect decades of excellence.

Wes Fesler. Bob Dove. Frank Sinkwich. Mike DeNiro. Ted Bell. Bo Rein. Michael Zordich. Korey Stringer. Deollo Anderson.

Just to name a few.

The Valley dominated the state tournament in the 1970s. In the first three years of the postseason, the Class AAA champions were Warren Western Reserve, Cardinal Mooney and Warren Harding.

Over the next 34 years, the Mahoning Valley produced 13 more state championship teams.

But on Friday a new chapter in the grand tradition of Youngstown football was written.

And it was done in convincing fashion.

About 1:30 p.m. in Massillon, Cardinal Mooney hoisted trophy No. 17 for the Valley and No. 7 for the school.

Less than five hours later, the Ursuline Fighting Irish repeated the scene a few miles to the east, in Canton. No. 18 for the Valley, No. 3 for the school.

Fitting, then, that the Valley’s top programs of the first 10 years of the new century ended the decade on top of the football mountain.

Even with all the great players, all the awards, all the championships, never before had we seen what transpired on Friday.

Two Valley teams winning state championships in the same year, let alone on the same day.

And Ursuline winning back-to-back championships — that’s the first time a Valley school has ever successfully defended its title.

New traditions. New names to add to the list.

Pelini and Heard. Jones and Kempe.

Fecko and Reardon.

A new chapter was written on Friday.

The book continues to grow.

Don't Miss a Story

Sign up for our newsletter to receive daily news directly in your inbox.