The District I matches are on tap at Crestview High School starting at 4 p.m.

The District I matches are on tap at Crestview High School starting at 4 p.m.

NEW WATERFORD — Seniors representing Mahoning, Trumbull and Columbiana counties will compete in three District I all-star volleyball matches today at Crestview High School.

The first match is scheduled for 4 p.m. Playing for Team One will be Chelsea Bowker of Crestview High School, Shantel Dickerson and Emily Pitzer of Mathews, Taylor Shiley of Mineral Ridge and Kaylee Couchenour of Columbiana. Michelle Basista of Mathews is coach.

Team Two will be represented by Laura Ashley Howard, Kelsie McGregor and Taylor Gasser of Hubbard, Taylor Burton of Ursuline, Lisa Dory of South Range, Darby O’Donnel of Liberty, Kristi Valentini of Poland and Alexis Sidley of Lakeview. Jen Staunton of Mineral Ridge is the coach.

The second match is scheduled for 5 p.m.

Playing on Team Three will be Rachael Kennedy and Morgan Fagnano of Springfield, Brittany Hiner of Brookfield, Caitlyn Higgins and Lindsay Firth of United, Taylor Weingart of Crestview, Peyton Smith of Lisbon and Kate Mesmer of East Palestine. Bill Knight of Springfield is the coach.

Team Four will be represented by Brianne Wagner and Allison Ward of Salem, Maggie Sell of United, Ashley Venable and Chakieyla Merriweather of Liberty, Diane Wallace of West Branch, Megan Campbell of Beaver Local and Megg Andrews of Canfield. Don Conser of Salem is coach.

The third match is scheduled for 6 p.m. Playing for Team Five will be Karly Gibbs and Brianna Blodgett of Lordstown, Alyssa Chine of Jackson-Milton, Kailyn Mowery of Western Reserve, Ciera Cramer of Leetonia, Jessica Downs of Lakeview, Emily Mahon of East Liverpool, Rory Sachire of Fitch and Olivia Wood of LaBrae. Pat Keney of Lordstown is coach.

Team Six will be represented by Kelly Barzak and Dawnise Hromyak of Howland, Ashley Guittar of Fitch, Dana Dragash of LaBrae, Kalie Luklan of Canfield, Abbey Bensing of Lakeview, Katie Pompeii of Poland, Hillary Christy of Brookfield and Kayleigh Barton of Hubbard.


Salem juniors Amy Scullion and Hubbard junior Jackie Carlisle earned first team Division II All-Ohio honors from the Ohio High School Volleyball Coaches Association.

Sophomore Dawn Lingenfelter of Hubbard and senior Brianne Wagner of Salem were honorable mention.

Making the Div. III third-team were seniors Chelsea Bowker of Crestview and Rachael Kennedy of Springfield. Junior Chelsea Guerrieri of Girard and senior Ashley Davis of Springfield were honorable mention.

Earning third team honors in Div. IV were seniors Alyssa Chine of Jackson-Milton and Karly Gibbs of Lordstown. Junior Caitlin Keck of Jackson-Milton and senior Brianna Blodgett of Lordstown were honorable mention.

Salem’s Don Conser was awarded the Div. II Coaches Achievement Award.

Don't Miss a Story

Sign up for our newsletter to receive daily news directly in your inbox.