emancipation service The details

The Interdenominational Ministerial Alliance and the Baptist Pastors’ Council will co-sponsor its annual Emancipation Proclamation Service at 10 a.m. Thursday, New Year’s Day, at Elizabeth Missionary Baptist Church, 1210 Himrod Ave., Youngstown. The Emancipation Proclamation Community Choir will rehearse at 10 a.m. today at the church. The service will feature:

Presiding worship leader: Rev. J. Dwayne Heard, president of the Baptist Pastors’ Council and pastor of Elizabeth Missionary Baptist Church

Invocation: The Rev. Bob Quaitance, pastor of Good Hope Lutheran Church.

Choir and congregational selection: “Lift Ev’ry Voice and Sing” by the Emancipation Proclamation Community Choir.

Scripture readings: Minister Carolyn O’Neil of Tabernacle Baptist Church.

Emancipation Litany: Elder Jerome Jones of Calvary Ministries International.

Purpose: The .Rev. Kenneth L. Simon, chairman of the Community Mobilization Committee, and pastor of New Bethel Baptist Church.

Offering: The Rev. John Tate and Mininster Eboni Tate.

Introduction of speaker: The Rev. Lewis W. Macklin II, president of Interdenominational Ministerial Alliance and pastor of Holy Trinity Baptist Missionary Church.

Keynote speaker: Jay Williams, mayor of Youngstown.

Altar appeal: The Rev. Bob Offerdahl, Native American Missions (Dakota Presbytery Mission Project).

Act of installation, dedication and commissioning: The Rev. Gena Thornton of St. Paul African Methodist Episcopal Church in Cleveland.

The Rev. Elizabeth Powell Heritage Award: Pastor Larry McCulloh of World Fellowship Interdenominational Church will present the award to Edna D. and H. Howard Pincham Sr.

Benediction: The Rev. Robin Woodberry of New Bethel Baptist Church.

Don't Miss a Story

Sign up for our newsletter to receive daily news directly in your inbox.